Federal Marijuana Laws

Each state is responsible for drafting its own cannabis laws. Even if marijuana is legal in a state, it should not be consumed in state properties because the federal government doesn’t recognize marijuana.

The US government considers marijuana as a schedule 1 drug which is harmful to the body. The Controlled Substances Act also considers medical and recreational marijuana as the same. Since marijuana is a schedule 1 drug, it means its group with harder drugs such as heroin, cocaine, and meth.

The federal government considers cannabis as a very addictive drug without therapeutic properties. This means, doctors and other health professionals still can’t prescribe marijuana to patients.

If you are caught possessing marijuana when driving, then you will be subject to fines and possible jail term, even in states where it is legal.


Where is Marijuana Decriminalized?

Cannabis decriminalization is different from cannabis legalization. Cannabis decriminalization can be defined as a process which ends prohibition in a state. Although the end of prohibition doesn’t refer to complete legalization, some states have passed laws which reduces the fines and jail terms for possessing recreational marijuana. States which have decriminalized marijuana include Alaska, Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, Vermont, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Most of these states haven’t completely legalized the possession of cannabis, so its still considered as an offense which can result to fines.


States with Medical Marijuana Programs

CBD is currently legal is Thirty-three states. Nonetheless not all states have begun the process of regulating its use and some only cover only a few medical conditions.

States where you can buy legal CBD include Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

In some states, measures have been taken to implement relatively restrictive CBD-focused programs as a way towards complete legalization. Missouri, Oklahoma, Indiana, Mississippi, Utah, Wyoming, Virginia, and Tennessee have implemented laws allowing patients to use CBD for severe conditions, while Texas and Iowa allow patients to use cannabis for all symptoms. Georgia state also passed a bill which allows the possession of 20 ounces of cannabis oil containing a maximum of 5% THC with at least a 1:1 THC to CBD ratio. South Carolina has one of the most less restrictive medical marijuana programs.


Recreational Marijuana States

Recreational marijuana can be freely consumed in Alaska, California, Colorado, Illinois, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nevada, Oregon, Vermont, Washington, and Washington D.C. Recreational cannabis is also legal in three tribes including the Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe, the Suquamish Tribe, and the Squaxin Island. While recreational marijuana is legal in D.C, the Congress has just started regulating the program. Residents can only buy marijuana legally at the dispensary, buying from the black market is still illegal.


Sigelow fiverr
Author: Sigelow fiverr

I have great inspiration to write articles that highlight the benefits of the cannabis plant

Posted on Categories Legality


  1. erotik December 19, 2020 at 11:54 am

    Wow! After all I got a blog from where I know how to truly obtain helpful facts concerning my study and knowledge. Flo Jens Flossie

  2. 720p December 19, 2020 at 2:59 pm

    Most succulent varieties want at least half a day to a full day of daylight. Adina Borg Rosena

  3. turkce December 19, 2020 at 4:47 pm

    I have recently started a website, the information you provide on this site has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work. Terri Worth Mauve

  4. 720p December 19, 2020 at 6:14 pm

    Excellent article! We are linking to this great post on our website. Antonie Jack Haswell

  5. turkce December 19, 2020 at 7:31 pm

    I do believe all of the ideas you have offered in your post. Vivia Corey Elbring

  6. turkce December 19, 2020 at 9:59 pm

    I got what you intend,saved to bookmarks, very nice internet site. Carissa Thibaud Suckow

  7. turkce December 19, 2020 at 11:36 pm

    I conceive this web site has some really superb information for everyone :D. Norry Donovan Tabib

  8. indir December 23, 2020 at 1:01 am

    I do not even know the way I stopped up right here, but I assumed this publish was great. Carley Lyman Uno

  9. web-dl December 23, 2020 at 2:53 am

    Amazing! Its in fact amazing paragraph, I have got much clear idea about from this post. Jamie Brenden Frangos

  10. torrent December 23, 2020 at 4:39 am

    I have recently started a web site, the information you offer on this website has helped me tremendously. Thanks for all of your time & work. Crysta Ethelred Noah

  11. bluray December 23, 2020 at 6:12 am

    I added a new list today. I changed how I scrape to get more results. Read my post for more details. Drusi Burch Gigi

  12. web-dl December 23, 2020 at 10:18 pm

    Excellent post! We are linking to this great article on our website. Keep up the good writing. Sileas Claudianus Shanda

  13. yify January 11, 2021 at 4:23 pm

    I like this web site very much, Its a rattling nice place to read and find info . Heddie Quillan Marven

  14. ucretsiz January 23, 2021 at 7:07 am

    A round of applause for your blog article. Thanks Again. Really Cool. Ninetta Elden Zuzana

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *